Sign In

Scholastic Breakfast Details

Last updated 4 years ago

The annual Scholastic Breakfasts began in mid April at the Hampton Inn in Homestead with Coral Reef Senior High School’s 13th Annual “Barracuda Award of Distinction,” which recognized the top graduating students from each of the six specialized academies at Coral Reef. The next day, over at Keys Gate Golf & Country Club, students were recognized from South Dade Senior High School at the 28th Annual “Buccaneer Award of Distinction.” Top students from each of the six academies were featured in a slide show as they were recognized and awarded their personalized medals.

The following week, Robert Morgan Education Center held their ninth Annual "Pirate Award of Distinction.” The tradition began with Robert Morgan’s first graduating class, recognizing the summa cum laude of the graduating students. Just a few days later, Homestead Senior High School celebrated their  "27th Bronco Award of Distinction,” highlighting the summa cum laude and giving each student a medal. The school’s AFJROTC Color Guard added to the festivities by presenting the flags.

Last but not least, on April 25th, the breakfast returned to the Hampton Inn to celebrate Southridge Senior High School’s 24th Annual “Spartan Award of Distinction.” The summa cum laude received a medal from the school while a slide show featured their achievements.

Miami Dade County Public School Board Representative, Dr. Lawrence Feldman, made the breakfasts a priority and attended each of the events. He greeted the groups, encouraging the students to take risks in life in order to learn and grow. Robert L. Epling, President and CEO of Community Bank, was the guest speaker for each of the breakfasts. He spoke to the students, informing them they were always one choice away from changing their lives. He told the audience the story of his first year at college and how his mother helped him get through being home-sick. He said that having his mom there to help him make the right choice was what made his life successful. He then asked the students to take a moment to thank their parents and continue to make the right choices ahead in life. At the end of each breakfast, students were given an inspirational book from Simple Truths; One Choice and the announcement was made they would all be featured in full page ads in the local newspapers.

Coral Reef Senior High School Academies.

Agriscience & Engineering: Scott Avick, Abigail Chambers, Antonio Riverol, Dayna Wilson

Business & Finance: Jose Galvis, Cedric Hankerson, Malorie Hill, Nicole Rilo

International Baccalaureate: Tanarut Chaisuesomboon, Kevin Fundora, Wilhelmina Lam, Hannah Pustejovsky, Khamai Simpson

Legal & Public Affairs: Bradley Jean-Joseph, Tiffany Lorente, Gabriel Rivas, Kimberly Rolle  

Leisure Medicine & Health Science: Sergio Herrera, Vanessa de La Osa, Melissa Flores,

Alexander Mangas

Visual & Performing Arts: Cassidy Chason, Emily Cochrane, Emily Fallon, Ainara Gastaminsa


Southridge Senior High School summa cum laude.

Bruno Acosta, Kaitlyn Alexander-Titus, Jhasir Bermudez, Dionte Brown, Tyronique Brown, Elisabeth Bruzon, Camila Cardona, Darius Demps, Abigail George, Jozef Gil, Anaeli Gomez, Carolyna Guillen, Alasia Kimbrough, Kiana Kirkland, Roxanne Lawrence, Yoana Lugo, Farrah Mohammed, Paulina Morning, Stephanie Orengo, Kamaria Payne, Karen Ramirez, Esther Saavedra, Gloria Santana, Darlene Sarracino, Chelsea Spann


South Dade Senior High School Academies

International Baccalaureate Academy: Luis Calderon, Jennifer Chavez, Jose Diaz-Rivera, Stefani Gonzalez, John Vihlen

International Business & Technology Academy: Kelly Crebbin, Mairyn Garcia-Penton, Daniel Ladron de Guevara, Kurtis Rickert, Krista Sinclair

Law Academy: Alejandra Gonzalez, Brenda Hernandez, Miranda Hernandez, Christian Rivera, Nicole Romero

Professional Services Academy: Danielle Dulevich, Yeneidys Hernandez, Andres Herrera, James Ogle, Yadhira Rubio

Sports Medicine & Health Academy: Demi Dominguez, Allie Ingram, Amie Ingram, Amber Mahan, Danielle Tuzio

Visual & Performing Arts Academy: Rosa Acosta, Samantha Leal, Ana Morillo, Crystal Ruiz, Lillian Voss

Homestead Senior High School summa cum laude.

Nely Acosta, Jose Alegre, Stephanie Benoit, Melina Camarena, Alivia Chambers, Maria Francois, Anthony Galarza, Wayne Gallo, Amber Garrido, Yveline Gaspard, Yveta Gaspard, Lina Gonzalez, Alexa Gutierrez, Silvia Gutierrez, Janiece Hanner, Bervely Joseph, Kiara Lopez, Nohelia Melendez, Maria Morice, Akilah Reese, Mauricio Reyes, Leomaris Santana, Haley Tomlinson, Mike Velasquez, Deandre White

Robert Morgan Educational Center summa cum laude

Harry Altidor, Jessie Benavides, Sunil Budhram, Amy Castro, Omair Chaudhri, Raychelle Dunn, Sebastian Duque, Denis Garcia, Alejandra Isaza, Vishnu Lall, Lexis Leger, Ana Lomeli, Jessica Medrano, Jonathon Milford, Alastair Paragas, Jorge Rios, Brittany Robbins, Christopher Tejada, Elizabeth Tinoco, Zachary Trejo, Jocelyn Vega, Ivan Velasquez

  • 2013 Coral Reef Honoree Ad
  • 2013 South Dade Honoree Ad
  • 2013 Robert Morgan Honoree Ad
  • 2013 Homestead High Honorees Ad
  • 2013 South Dade Honorees Ad

  • Loading comments... Spinner
Do you like Community Bank of Florida?

  • Hours:

  • 7:30 AM to 6:00 PM Monday
  • 7:30 AM to 6:00 PM Tuesday
  • 7:30 AM to 6:00 PM Wednesday
  • 7:30 AM to 6:00 PM Thursday
  • 7:30 AM to 6:00 PM Friday
  • 7:30 AM to 12:00 PM Saturday


  • Recent Posts
    • Loading posts... Spinner
  • View All
  • Recent Comments
    • Loading comments... Spinner
  • Related Links
  • Popular Tags
    • Loading tags... Spinner